The CMSA supports students through the CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize. This is awarded for the best talk by a student at the ACC or ICC conference. It is named in honour of Anne Penfold Street, who was the first President of the CMSA.

CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize Winners

45ACC 2023Đorđe MitrovićUniversity of Auckland
44ACC 2022Robert Hickingbotham Monash University
43ACC 2021 Jack Allsop Monash University
Aditya Ganguly University of New South Wales
42ACCMCC 2019Stefan EhardUniversity of Ulm
41ACCMCC 2018Meenu Mariya JoseVictoria University of Wellington
5ICC 2017Harald BoegeholzMonash University
40ACCMCC 2016Kyle RosaUniversity of Western Australia
39ACCMCC 2015Mark IoppoloUniversity of Western Australia
38ACCMCC 2014Darcy Best Monash University
37ACCMCC 2013 Florian Lehner Graz University of Technology, Austria
36ACCMCC 2012 Mohammadreza Jooyandeh Australian National University
35ACCMCC 2011 Sarada Herke University of Queensland
34ACCMCC 2010 Ben Clark Victoria University of Wellington
33ACCMCC 2009 Beáta Faller University of Canterbury
Joanne Hall Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
4ICC 2008 Kerri Morgan Monash University
32ACCMCC 2007 Ben Smith University of Queensland
31ACCMCC 2006 Alison Thomson University of Melbourne
30ACCMCC 2005 Daniel Horsley University of Queensland
James Lefevre University of Queensland
29ACCMCC 2004 Shuji Kijima University of Tokyo
28ACCMCC 2003 Jeanette McLeod Australian National University
27ACCMCC 2002 Julie Cain University of Melbourne
Peter Jenkins University of Queensland
26ACCMCC 2001 Dillon Mayhew Victoria University of Wellington

The CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize was formerly called the CMSA Student Prize, 2001-2016.

CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize Rules


  1. to foster student interest and involvement in the Australasian Combinatorics Conferences;
  2. to encourage good presentation of student talks.

Criteria by which to judge the papers:

  1. the motivation and setting of the general context,
  2. the methods used to present the material,
  3. the organisation and structure of the lecture,
  4. the originality of the substance of the lecture, and
  5. the rapport with the audience.

General rules and procedures:

  1. The CMSA will provide a prize of $500 to the best student talk at the annual Australasian Combinatorics Conference;
  2. that a jury of at least 3 people be chosen by the President in consultation with the Director of the Conference to judge the talks on the basis of the criteria above;
  3. that any speaker enrolled for a degree be eligible, but the jury may decide to vary this in unusual circumstances;
  4. that, whenever possible, the jury be chosen ahead of the conference;
  5. that the jury be responsible for all decisions made;
  6. that the jury may, at its discretion, decide not to award any prize, or decide to have the prize shared.