The Combinatorial Mathematics Society of Australasia (CMSA) was formally established in 1978, having existed as an informal group since 1972. The CMSA was incorporated in 1996 and currently has almost 300 members, including 124 life members.

The CMSA aims to facilitate, encourage, foster and cherish the branch of mathematics known as combinatorics throughout Australia, New Zealand and their neighbouring countries. The main activities of the CMSA are to publish the Australasian Journal of Combinatorics (AJC), and to oversee the organisation of the annual Australasian Combinatorics Conference (ACC), and the ten-yearly International Combinatorics Conference (ICC).

Student participation in our conferences is strongly encouraged. A CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize is awarded annually for the best talk by a student, and student travel support is made available when possible.

The CMSA Prize is an award made for outstanding research by an early career researcher in any area of combinatorics. It is awarded at most once every three years.

The CMSA Medal is awarded at most every three years, to honour a member of the CMSA who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to combinatorics and to the Australasian combinatorics community.